1L Diversity Scholarship Program

Farella Braun + Martel LLP strives to cultivate an inclusive culture within our firm and is committed to diversifying the legal profession through the hiring of law students and attorneys from diverse backgrounds and experiences. Since 2001, Farella’s 1L Diversity Scholarship Program has awarded $440,000 in scholarship funds to more than 77 diverse first-year law students with the goal of assisting them in their pursuit of a legal career. 

The application period for the 2019 1L Diversity Scholarship Program is now open. Applications are due by Thursday, March 7, 2019.

Diversity Scholarship Program Reception

As part of the application process, we also strongly recommend that applicants attend our 1L Diversity Scholarship Program Reception held at Farella’s San Francisco office, scheduled on February 20, 2019, where applicants can meet and connect with Farella attorneys.


Scholarship applicants must be current first-year students with full- or part-time class loads with an anticipated graduation date of May 2021 and should be currently attending one of the following law schools: University of California, Berkeley, School of Law; University of California Davis School of Law; University of California, Hastings College of the Law; Santa Clara University School of Law; Stanford Law School; or University of San Francisco School of Law.

The scholarship program is open to law students of underrepresented groups whose background or personal experience would contribute to the diversity of the legal profession. Scholarship recipients will be chosen based upon a combination of merit and financial need.

Preference will be given to applicants who demonstrate a commitment to working and living in the Bay Area.

Application Process

  • Online Application Available (download here)
  • Resume
  • Official Undergrad Transcript
  • Official Law School Transcript
  • Personal Statement
  • References
  • Financial Information (FAFSA, IRS Forms, or Statement of Economic Need)

Questions? Please reach out to Maggie Owyang at .

Click to read about last year's recipients.